Pacific Basic Economic Council

Pacific Basic Economic Council

Pacific Basic Economic Council (PBEC) in relation with International Trade

In the context of trade organizations, Christopher Mark (1993) provided the following definition of Pacific Basic Economic Council (PBEC): A consultative grouping comprising government and private-sector representatives from Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, and the United States. PBEC was founded in 1984 for the purpose of consultation and cooperation on a broad range of economic and trade-related policies. PBEC has held annual conferences and working groups have been operating since 1984. A permanent secretariat was established 1990 in Singapore.



, ,