Maritime Boundary Treaties

Maritime Boundary Treaties

U.S.-kiribati Maritime Boundary Treaty in 2013

United States views on international law [1] in relation to U.s.-kiribati Maritime Boundary Treaty: On September 6, 2013, the United States and the Republic of Kiribati signed a boundary treaty delimiting the waters between their two countries. The treaty was signed in Majuro, Marshall Islands, in connection with the Pacific Islands Forum. The treaty represents the first treaty to delimit a maritime boundary that the United States has signed since 2000. Using three separate boundary lines, the treaty divides the maritime space between the U.S. islands of Palmyra Atoll, Kingman Reef, Jarvis Island and Baker Island and the Kiribati Line and Phoenix island groups. The treaty, with appropriate technical adjustments, formalizes boundaries that had been informally adhered to by the two countries previously on the basis of the principle of equidistance, such that the lines are equal in distance from each country. The three boundaries, taken together, approximate 1,260 nautical miles in length and form the second longest among all U.S. maritime boundaries. The treaty will enter into force upon ratification by both countries.



  1. U.s.-kiribati Maritime Boundary Treaty in the Digest of United States Practice in International Law