European Atomic Energy Community

International Legal Research

Information about European Atomic Energy Community in free legal resources:

Treaties & Agreements

International Organizations

Jurisprudence $ Commentary

European Union

IP Law

European Atomic Energy Community

Summary of European Atomic Energy Community

One of the three components of the European Communities, established by the Treaty of Rome in 1957. The entity, known commonly as Euratom, was created by member states of the European Coal and Steel Community (at that time, France, Italy, Federal Republic of Germany, and the Benelux countries), to harness atomic energy for peaceful purposes, particularly as a source of energy. Since its formation, Great Britain, Ireland, Denmark, and Greece have acceded to the Euratom convention. Spain and Portugal will become participants Jan. 1, 1986. Effective July 1, 1967, the organs of Euratom were merged with those of the European Economic Community and the European Coal and Steel Community to create the European Communities.

(Main Author: William J. Miller)

European Atomic Energy Community

Embracing mainstream international law, this section on european atomic energy community explores the context, history and effect of the area of the law covered here.


See Also

  • International Organization
  • Foreign Relations
  • Intergovernmental Organization
  • Regional Organization
  • Regional Integration


Further Reading

  • The entry “european atomic energy community” in the Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law (currently, the Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law, 2009), Oxford University Press

Leave a Comment