Enlargement of the European Union

International Legal Research

Information about Enlargement of the European Union in free legal resources:

Treaties & Agreements

International Organizations

Jurisprudence $ Commentary

European Union

IP Law


Enlargement of the European Union

In the 1950s, the EU began with just six member states. It now has 27. Growth in EU membership is known as ‘enlargement’, and it has happened several times:

  • 1950 Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands
  • 1973 Denmark, Ireland, United Kingdom
  • 1981 Greece
  • 1986 Portugal, Spain
  • 1995 Austria, Finland, Sweden
  • 2004 Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.
  • 2007 Bulgaria and Romania.



See Also

References and Further Reading

About the Author/s and Reviewer/s

Author: international

Leave a Comment