International Legal Research

Information about EEA in free legal resources:

Treaties & Agreements

International Organizations

Jurisprudence $ Commentary

European Union

IP Law




See EEA disambiguation page for other meanings of EEA

The European Economic Area, abbreviated as EEA, consists of the 28 Member States of the European Union (EU) and three countries of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) (all except Switzerland, namely: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway)

The Agreement on the EEA entered into force on 1 January 1994. It seeks to strengthen trade and economic relations between the contracting parties and is principally concerned with the four fundamental pillars of the internal market, namely: the free movement of goods, people, services and capital. The availability of comparable statistical data is considered as relevant to the four freedoms and is therefore included in the agreement

EU enlargements had a direct impact on the EEA Agreement, and the enlarged EEA now includes 31 countries (EFTA countries in italic):

Belgium (BE) Spain (ES) Hungary (HU) Slovakia (SK)

Bulgaria (BG) France (FR) Malta (MT) Finland (FI)

Czech Republic (CZ) Croatia (HR) Netherlands (NL) Sweden (SE)

Denmark (DK) Italy (IT) Austria (AT) United Kingdom (UK)

Germany (DE) Cyprus (CY) Poland (PL) Iceland (IS)

Estonia (EE) Latvia (LV) Portugal (PT) Liechtenstein (LI)

Ireland (IE) Lithuania (LT) Romania (RO) Norway (NO)

Greece (EL) Luxembourg (LU) Slovenia (SI)


Embracing mainstream international law, this section on eea explores the context, history and effect of the area of the law covered here.

EEA and the European Union


See Also

  • International Organization
  • Foreign Relations
  • Intergovernmental Organization
  • Regional Organization
  • Regional Integration


See Also

  • European Economic Area


Further Reading

  • The entry “eea” in the Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law (currently, the Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law, 2009), Oxford University Press


Further Information

European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

European Union (EU)

Leave a Comment